Contact Management

The Contacts node is used to create and maintain Users and Groups within your SentryOne environment. Users and Groups are created for a couple of different reasons. They can be created for notification purposes within the SentryOne Alerting and Responses System. Once you configure a Send Email or Send Page action, any user or group that's been created becomes available for you to choose as a target.

The other reason for defining Users and Groups is the ability to assign rights to them. These rights are used to restrict the access of Users and Groups within the SentryOne client. For more information, see the SentryOne Client Security topic.

SentryOne Contacts

Viewing Notifications by User or Group

From the Contacts node, it's possible to view all notifications assigned to a user or group. To do so, select any User or Group node, and then open the Conditions pane (View > Conditions > General/Failsafe/Audit Actions Conditions). A list of all notification actions associated with that user/group appear; from here you can disable or change any of these configured actions.

Users

Expand the Users node in the Navigator pane to list any configured users.

Adding or Editing a User

To add a new user, right-click on the Users node, and then select New. To edit information about an existing user, double-click or right-click on the user's name in the Navigator pane to open the Edit User tab.

SentryOne Add New UserAdding Users SentryOne Edit User PropertiesEdit User Properties

Deleting or Disabling a User

To delete or disable a user, right-click the user, and then select Delete User or Disable User.

SentryOne Delete and Disable User

Note:  When you disable a user, they no longer receive notifications for any actions that they are the selected target of. If the disabled user is part of a group, that user no longer receives notifications when that group is notified. Disabled users are grayed-out in the Navigator pane and have Disabled next to their name. 

Enabling a User

To enable a user that has been disabled, right-click the user, and then select Enable User.

SentryOne Enable User

User Fields

When you create a new user or edit an existing user, the following fields are available.

SentryOne Add User Properties

FieldDescription
First NameThe first name of the user. Required.
Last NameThe last name of the user.
Email AddressThe email address of the user. Required
Pager AddressThe pager address of the user.
Email WindowThe Email Window for the selected user. When you assign an Email Window to a user or group, be sure to take note of the Email Window Behavior option.

For more information about Schedules, see the Schedules and Windows topic.

Email Window Behavior
  • Perform actions that occur within the window—Only email actions that occur during the Window's active time frame are carried out. Email actions that are triggered outside of the active time frame are suppressed.
  • Don't Perform actions that occur within the window—Email actions that occur during the active time frame are filtered or suppressed. Only email actions that occur outside of the Window's active time frame are carried out.
Pager WindowThe Pager Window for the selected user. When you assign a Pager Window to a user or group, be sure to take note of the Pager Window Behavior option.  

For more information about Schedules, see the Schedules and Windows topic.

Pager Window Behavior
  • Perform actions that occur within the window—Only pager actions that occur during the Window's active time frame are carried out. Email actions that are triggered outside of the active time frame are suppressed.
  • Don't Perform actions that occur within the window—Pager actions that occur during the active time frame are filtered or suppressed. Only pager actions that occur outside of the Window's active time frame are carried out.
LoginThe Windows or SQL Authentication account for the user. You can associate a SentryOne user with a Windows or SQL Authentication account and restrict access to specific Sites, Target Groups, or instances, effectively limiting what the logged-in user can see within the client. For more information, see the SentryOne Client Security topic.
DescriptionDescriptive text or notes for the user.
GroupsThe Available area lists any group within your SentryOne enterprise. The Selected area lists those groups that the user belongs to.

Groups

Expand the Groups node in the Navigator pane to list any configured groups.

Adding or Editing a Group

To add a new group, right-click or double-click on the Groups node, and then select New. To edit information about an existing group, right-click or double-click on the group name in the Navigator pane to open the Edit Group tab.

SentryOne New Group

Assigning User(s) to a Group

To assign users to the group, choose from the available users on the bottom-left side of the Properties view, and then select Add. Select Save in the top toolbar to save a group.

SentryOne Assign Users Group

Deleting or Disabling a Group

To delete or disable a group, right-click the desired group, and then select Delete Group or Disable Group.

SentryOne Delete and Disable Groups

Note:  When you disable a group, that group no longer receives notifications for any actions that they are the selected target of. Disabled groups are grayed-out in the Navigator pane, and they are also listed as Disabled.

Enabling a Group

To enable a group that has been disabled, use the right-click context menu of the group, and select Enable Group.

SentryOne Enable Group

Group Fields

When you create a new group or edit an existing group, the following fields are available.

SentryOne Edit Group Properties

FieldDescription
Group NameThe name assigned to a group. Required. 
Alert WindowWhen you assign an Alert Window to a group be sure to take note of the Alert Window Behavior option.

For more information about Schedules, see the Schedules and Windows topic.

Alert Window Behavior
  • Perform actions that occur within the window—Only email and pager actions that occur during the Window's active time frame are carried out. Actions that are triggered outside of the active time frame are suppressed.
  • Don't Perform action that occur within the window—Actions that occur during the active time frame are filtered or suppressed. Only email and pager actions that occur outside of the Window's active time frame are carried out.
LoginThe Windows active directory account for the group. You can associate a SentryOne group with a Windows active directory account and restrict access to specific sites, target groups, or instances, effectively limiting what the logged-in user can see within the client. For more information, see the SentryOne Client Security topic.
DescriptionDescriptive text or notes for the user.
UsersThe Available area lists users within your SentryOne enterprise. The Selected area lists any users that belong to the group.