General Tasks

The following is a review of some common tasks performed using the SentryOne Client.

Targets and Target Groups

Adding a Target Group

On any site node or existing group node, right-click and select Add, and then select Group

SentryOne Add Target Group

Deleting a Target Group

On any existing group node, right-click and select Delete Group. Remove all targets and sub-groups before deleting a group.

SentryOne Delete Target Group

Adding a Target

Select Add in the right-click context menu of the following nodes:

  • All Targets
  • Site
  • Group

SentryOne Add Target

Deleting a Target

Select Delete Target in the right-click context menu of any target node. Before deleting a target, select Stop Watching to stop watching all of its associated instances.

SentryOne Delete Target

Warning: Delete Target deletes the actual registration for the target from SentryOne. This includes the deletion of all historical information for any associated instances belonging to the target from the SentryOne database. Delete Target is final and can't be undone. Only use this command to permanently delete information SentryOne has stored about the target and its associated instances from the SentryOne database.

Instances

Adding an Instance

Select Add in the right-click context menu of the following nodes:

  • All Targets
  • Site
  • Target Group Target

SentryOne Add Instance

For more information about adding an instance, see the Monitoring Additional Targets topic.

Watching an Instance

On any instance node, select Watch. For more information about watching an instance, see the Monitoring Additional Targets topic.

SentryOne Watching Instance

SQL Server Registrations

Viewing a SQL Server Registration

To view your local SQL Server registrations, select the Show SQL Server Registrations icon located in the Navigator pane.

SentryOne Viewing SQL Server Registration

Creating a SQL Server Registration

Select New SQL Server Registration in the right-click context menu of the Local Server Groups node contained beneath the SQL Server Registrations node.

SentryOne Create SQL Server Registration

Deleting a SQL Server Registration

Select Delete Registration in the right-click context menu of any SQL Server registration.

Synchronizing SQL Server Groups

On the Local Server Groups node, select Synchronize SQL Server Groups. This synchronizes the SentryOne client groups and servers with SSMS.

Synchronizing SentryOne SQL Server Groups

Note:  You may need to close SSMS prior to synchronization for any changes you make visible.

Event Calendar Related

Jumping to a Particular Time in the Calendar View

On any node above the object level, right-click and select Jump To > Time. This displays a calendar and time selector to take you to the view opened at a specified date and time. To persist the time setting, go to Tools > User Preferences > Navigator, and then select the appropriate parameters. This allows you to jump to the same time for each selected view.

Jump to Time in SentryOne SQL Server Calendar View

User and Group Tasks

Adding a User

Double-click or right-click the Users node, and then select New. Input the appropriate information in the user window, exit the user window, and then select Save. The new user displays under the Users node.

Adding SentryOne SQL Server User

Editing a User

Double-click or right-click the Users node, and then select Open. The user window appears populated with that user's settings. Make any changes, exit the user window, and then select Save to save the changes.

Editing SentryOne SQL Server User

Deleting a User

On a user node, select the delete key or select Delete User from the context menu. This permanently deletes the user.

Deleting SentryOne SQL Server User

Adding a Group

Double-click or right-click the Groups node, and then select New. Input the appropriate information in the group window, exit the user window, and then select Save. The new group displays under the Groups node.

Adding SentryOne SQL Server Group

Editing a Group

Double-click or right-click the Groups node, select Open, and the group window appears populated with the group's settings. Make any changes, exit the user window, and then select Save to save the changes.

Editing SentryOne SQL Server Group

Deleting a Group

On a group node, select the delete key or select Delete Group from the context menu. This permanently deletes the group.

Deleting SentryOne SQL Server Group

For more information about users and groups, see the Contact Management topic.

Event Object Jobs

Adding an Event Object

On any event objects node, select New > Job....

Adding SentryOne SQL Server Event Object

Deleting an Event Object

On any event objects node, select Delete Job. This permanently deletes the object.

Deleting SentryOne SQL Server Event Object

Note:  Not all objects support deletion from the SentryOne Client (e.g., Reporting Services).

Watching an Event Object

On any event objects node, select Watch Job. This sets the object status to Watched, enabling conditions and action for the object, as well as queuing chaining and performance monitoring features, if applicable. The instance status will also be set to Watched if it isn't already watched.

Watching SentryOne SQL Server Event Object

Stop Watching an Event Object

On any event objects node, select Stop Watching Job. This sets the object status to Unwatched, disabling conditions and actions for the object, as well as queuing chaining and performance monitoring features, if applicable.

Stop Watching SentryOne SQL Server Event Object

Starting Performance Monitoring

On a watched event objects node, select Monitor Performance. This enables monitoring for any performance counters linked to the object. The SentryOne monitoring service automatically starts any linked counters immediately prior to an event instance starting and stops the counters shortly after the instance ends, minimizing any associated overhead on the network and monitored instance(s).

Starting SentryOne SQL Server Performance Monitoring

Stopping Performance Monitoring

On a watched event objects node, select Stop Monitoring Performance. This suspends performance monitoring for the object. Existing linked counters are not deleted, so monitoring can easily be re-enabled for the object in the future.

Stopping SentryOne SQL Server Performance Monitoring

Starting a Job or Task

On any job or task node, select Start Job. If the job has more than one step, a window appears allowing you to select the step where you would like the job to start.

Stopping SentryOne SQL Server Job or Task

Stopping a Job or Task

On any job or task node, select Stop Job.

Stopping SentryOne SQL Server Job of Task

Enabling an Event Object

On the event objects node, select Enable. This enables the event to run according to the schedules defined for it.

Enabling SentryOne SQL Server Event Object

Disabling an Event Object

On the event objects node, select Disable. This disables the event from running according to the schedules defined for it.

Disabling SentryOne SQL Server Event Object

Viewing an Event Object's Properties

On any event objects node, select Properties. This displays the object's native properties window.

Viewing SentryOne SQL Server Event Objects Properties

Note:  Not all objects support the properties interface (e.g., Reporting Services).

Viewing Job History

On any event objects node, select Jump To > Historyand then select the range to view.

Deleting a Performance Counter

On any performance counter node, select Delete. This effectively de-links the performance counter from this object. The counter can always be re-linked to the object later.

Deleting SentryOne SQL Server Performance Counter